Something that needs to be said without pictures.

by knittinginatree

Now that you know I’m still knitting behind the scenes, I have some news to share.

My absence from the blog is not only the result of the extreme number of hours dedicated to completing the research for my thesis project and finish up my masters program by Spring, but it is also because we are moving out of state. It’s happening so soon (mid December), and while we always new we wouldn’t be in Alaska forever the move comes unexpectedly.

It is bittersweet. We are so excited to move back to our lower 48, to our midwest, to our Minnesota. It’s our home and it’s where our bones seem to belong as much as our hearts. But, Alaska has changed us, it has weathered out some of the midwest perspective we’ve always clung to and expanded our understanding of the world, our commitment to humanity, the environment, and passion for life. Alaska has been kind to us, through making friends, helping people, and building community. I know these things will follow us to Minnesota as we nestle in to the new and the old, but I hope to be mindful and intentional about making sure they are present as we build our future in Minnesota.

As I’ve been packing up boxes, particularly when packing up my yarn stash, I tried to take some time to think about this space and how my love for knitting has evolved since moving to Alaska. There is no question that the Alaska landscape, climate, and seasons are a perfect mix for the inspired knitter. I’m so grateful that 5 1/2 years ago when we packed up our little van with all our belongings and headed north to Alaska that I thought to bring my knitting needles and a few skeins of yarn. I’m also thankful that I decided to start writing and sharing my knitting adventures here, and low and behold to even have readers! I hope you’ll continue to read as I continue to share the upcoming adventures of life and knitting from a new locale.

