In the Kitchen–Granola

by knittinginatree

(Again, please forgive the bad lighting.) My friends Abby and Philip always make their granola in bulk. (At least whenever they’ve made granola and I’ve been around it’s always been stored in a big bulk container.) It seems obvious to me if you are going to make granola to double or triple your recipe. I just never have. But, tonight I decided to do it up and I threw in all the oats I had–15 cups worth.

I always use my Mom’s granola recipe as a rough guide when making granola:

Combine and heat this mixture:
1/3 cup water
1/3 cup molasses ( or molasses and maple syrup, or just maple syrup)
1/3 cup honey
after you have done that-
Add 2 Tblsps. oil (Grapeseed) and pour over:

4 cups thick oatmeal
1/4 or more cups shredded coconut
1/2 c. nuts, any kind
1/4 c sunflower seeds
1/4 c. pumpkin seeds
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. salt.
Stir all together and spread on a big jelly roll (cookie sheet)
Bake at 325 degrees, 35 minutes, stir every 10 min. or so.
When done you can add dried fruit.

I’ve got round three in the oven now. Tonight I used walnuts and sunflower seeds and used up all of the shredded coconut that I had ~2 1/2 cups. Tonight I cooked part of the granola in a roasting pan which also worked out well. Now we’ll be set with breakfast for a while.