Cowls for Charmaine

by knittinginatree

Finally, I have two FOs to share. As I’ve mentioned previously, I’ve been making cowls for my friend Charmaine. Last weekend she and her husband, Bruce, were in town. It was a nice fall weekend and we had a lot of fun running around.  On their last day in town, I was able to cast the cowls off right before our little photo shoot. The first cowl is inspired by a Kirsten Kapur design, the Chickadee Cowl, and Yayayarn’s rendition of the pattern.


During this process I thoroughly enjoyed learning how to work the linen stitch, which makes for an easily reversible cowl. It is also makes for a much thicker texture, perfect for our upcoming season (winter). I think Charmaine wears it well…

My second FO is the Tilting Tardis Cowl by Marilyn Phillippi. I must admit this pattern wasn’t as easy for me as I had anticipated. I think the tilt in the pattern prevented me from getting a rhythm going with my needles.  But, it was a fun challenge and I’m happy with the result.

The fun part of this pattern is that it can be buttoned many different ways. The leather buttons are from my stash. And, the fiber used for both cowls was purchased by Charmaine in Arizona; it is hand spun wool that I believe is from the Navajo Churro sheep. I loved learning that Navajo philosophy sees the sheep as a symbol of the good life.

While I was knitting away I had no idea that all along I had been knitting for a celebrity. Don’t you know who Charmaine is?  Well, let me tell you, she has recently earned the title of president of the Capital City Quilters Guild in Juneau!

Thank you for letting me take so many pictures of you, Charmaine. I hope you will enjoy the good life of your cowls.

