Here and There

by knittinginatree

It’s snowing outside our window! So, why not let it snow on my blog?

There are a few holiday things we’ve been enjoying around the world wide web that I figured deserved some attention here.

Over Thanksgiving S’s brother introduced us to KIVA-Loans that change lives.  Their mission is a pretty simple concept–connect people, through lending money to alleviate poverty. But, expanding past this concept they believe that “by connecting people we can create relationships beyond financial transactions, and build a global community expressing support and encouragement of one another.”

After further investigating the site we found Edison in Peru.

Edison makes his livelihood by selling his knitted and weaved garments. He requested a loan to purchase 150 cones of wool. Pooled together with other donors, knittinginatree was happy to be able to take part in funding Edison 100 percent to further promote his knitting business.

If you are looking for a place to donate during this season, I encourage you to check out KIVA. Even Oprah gives it a thumbs up!

HT: http://www.leeds.ac.uk/library/adopt-a-book/christmas.htm

Also, I wanted to direct some traffic to CraftLit: A podcast for crafters who love books.  I’m a relatively new listener to CraftLit, but I arrived just in time to begin listening to Dicken’s A Christmas Carol. Somehow I forgot that A Christmas Carol is also called a Christmas ghost story; it sounds more enticing when thought of in that way.   The moderator, Heather Ordover, seems to have been an English teacher at one point in her life (correct me if I’m wrong) and I rather enjoy her insights and introductions before delving into the story reading. Anyway, it has been a great once a week respite to listen in on and if you’re interested please join me…you can certainly catch up in no time.

Finally, I have one more thing to share. Last week I joined Pinterest. I was very skeptical at first, but it actually is proving to be a helpful way to visually store things I love and to spy on others interests.  Please stop by and say hello to me there, I’m Liza Root. Below are some Holiday boards I put together.

Happy Holidays!

