On reaching the end and a FO from S

by knittinginatree

Who knows why I’m blogging on an early Saturday morning. But, here I am. I do love the early morning when I wake up feeling completely rested and ready to enjoy a bit of quiet. Although this is usually a rare occasion and today I’m not certain I have that feeling of being fully rested. Nonetheless, here I am. In part I think I’m still riding on a bit of that excitement and energy of completing the end of a semester, and feeling good about what I’m fortunate to be academically a part of–public health.

My semester ended with a wonderful conversation about knitting and public health. There is a professor in my program who wants to create a class on fiber arts and public health! (For the record, I’m grinning from ear to ear right now). I really think it is a fascinating topic particularly with regards to women’s health and empowerment. Of course now I want to spend my break reading Women’s Work: The First 20,000 Years, Women, Cloth, and Society by Elizabeth Wayland Barbara. I already have a thesis topic in the works which is a bit more appropriate for my local community health needs, but knitting and public health remains a strong interest and one in which I intend to research a bit and hopefully I can share what I find out here.

So, while I prattle on about women and fiber arts, it is important to remember that the other half of our population, men, have a fiber history too. As the sleeping S calls out, from his proud Norwegian stature, “the Vikings knitted!”

This of course leads into an FO from S. The other day S arrived home from work grumbling about a lost hat. He looked at me, sighed, and said, “I guess I’ll have to make myself a new one.” Less than two days later he cast off this simple hat.

The pattern is a variation of the Three Flower Hat from Homespun Handknit. Mods: Obviously there aren’t any flowers on his hat and he added the red stripe and red top because we didn’t have enough brown. Yarn: Random wool leftovers from my Grandma’s stash and Charmaine’s cowls.


I'm proud of his fine knitting skills. Also, I love that he knew what kind of hat he wanted and made it.

