FO: When Bacchus Gets the Blues

by knittinginatree

The Bacchus Socks by Alice Bell.

It has been some time since I’ve made a pair of socks and my addiction to sock knitting may have returned. It continues to fascinate me how knitting can create such wonderful and unexpected shapes and I see this most quickly when I’m making socks. This will be the first pair of socks I have made that I get to keep for myself. And, they’re keeping my feet warm as I type.

Materials:

1 skein of Cascade Yarns Heritage Sock Yarn

(75% Merino, 25% Nylon)

US Size 2 needles

New Knitting Techniques for Me:

I intentionally chose a pattern working from the toe up as I was worried I wouldn’t have enough yarn. (I’d rather have a shorter sock cuff than no toes.) However, this was my first time knitting from the toe up and I was able to learn the Eastern method of casting on stitches. I love how sturdy it makes the toe of the sock.

Mods: The pattern offers the option to knit bobbles along the foot of the sock, I chose to be practical and leave them off assuming they might be uncomfortable in my mukluks or hiking boots, which is more my regular foot attire. (The ballet flats just came out for the photo shoot).

Regrets: The pattern recommends using a lightly variegated yarn as it will show off the vine branching and berry texture. Instead I chose a deep blue color which doesn’t show off the details as well.

All regrets aside, I’m thrilled to have my first pair of hand knit socks.

Also, I’ve been enjoying Alice Bell’s blog (linked above). She is a Science Communication lecturer at Imperial College, London. Her blog is mostly based around education, communication and science, all topics that are interesting to me. If you’re interested you should definitely check her out.

 


