Owls

by knittinginatree

As someone who grew up in the North woods of Minnesota, I’m familiar with owls in a very different way than their current trend as cutesy and cuddly. However, I couldn’t resist making up a few as gifts over the holidays. They seem so friendly and deserving of names, but I’ll leave that task to their current owners.


I made up four of these little ones. Two as hair barrettes and two as pins. They are a very quick and easy knit, just perfect for a last minute gift. The cable pattern for this is simple to figure out on your own, but the lovely Ysolda has written up the pattern which you can find for free here.

 

Materials:

This pattern is great for stash busting. The brown owls are made out of Dalegarn: Svale ( 50% cotton, 40% viscose, 10% silk). And, the red ones are made from Berocco: Touche (50% cotton, 50% rayon).

Knit on US size 4 needles.


Old buttons from my stash and that drab brown blouse I wore in December.

 

Mods:

I like my owls plump, so I eliminated one row on the body of the owl, which makes the body the same size as the head of the owl. You can see the difference in the barrettes photo. The brown owl is made exactly following Ysolda’s pattern and the red owl’s body is slightly shorter.  The shorter owls also seem to hold their shape a little better. Either way they are quite a hoot!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



