Day Seven: The last FO of 2010

by knittinginatree

I realize that it’s sort of lame to be in February and finally sharing my last FO of 2010… Additionally, it is probably lame to claim it as my thing for today, but that’s what I’m going to do. So, with out further ado, I give you…the sideways grande cloche by Laura Irwin.

I’ve been dreaming of making this hat for some time. And, when I was looking over the pattern before the holidays I realized that this would be a great hat for my mom. I was assuming it would be a putzy pattern, but I now sit corrected. This was a knit in an afternoon kind of project, so my mom was able to receive her gift on Christmas. I had read a few reviews by folks complaining about the large size of the cloche, so I made this up on smaller needles starting with US size 8 and working my way down to a US size 5. However, I’ve since decided that a cloche is suppose to be a bit larger and would correct my sizing if I were to repeat this pattern. Nevertheless, I’m still happy with how it turned out and so is my mom.

(I should say that her hair was tied up when in this photo was taken so the cloche actually does pull down over the ears.)

There is another chapter to the grande cloche story. Well, like I said, I’ve really wanted one of my own. Guess who made me one for Christmas? Yes, S! Here I am wearing mine.

He truly is an extraordinary knitter.

I’m not sure what I’m doing, but I know that I’m smiling because I love my new cloche.

Oops! I almost forgot to mention the fiber. S made my cloche out of Sublime: cashmere, merino and silk. And, my mom’s cloche was made out of a no name wool. (I’m sure it does have a name but it was a gift from an old co worker who had removed the label

…so it goes).

