Iknitarod…let the race begin.

by knittinginatree

“Iknitarod?” “Don’t you mean Iditarod?”

Nope, Iknitarod is the name of the game and I’m here to tell you that I’m wrangling yarn instead of sled dogs. On the ceremonial start of the 2011 Iditarod I began casting on (with other knitters far and wide) a project that would challenge my skills and refine my abilities as a knitter. Enter the Norwegian Knapsack.

Here is a photo of my work on day one.

By day three I’ve completed the bottom of the knapsack and I’m moving into color work-the real challenge. The pattern calls for two colors, but I’m going all out and plan to include six colors. Can she do it? Time will tell. According to the rules I’ve got until the red lantern goes out and the last musher crosses the finish line. They tell me the Iditarod lasts about two weeks, so I’ve got a bit of time. I’m feeling confident even though I type this with a bit of a cramp in my hand…  There has not been any causalities yet, but working with metal needles does a number on my wrists and fingers (it seems to awaken some old battle wounds from my chainsaw wielding days). This may call for me to make a special journey to my LYS to replenish my wooden needle collection. You’ve heard it here first folks, I’ll keep you posted with updates as the race continues. Just to get you in the mood, I’ll leave you with this video by Marc Lester.

2011 Iditarod ceremonial start from Marc Lester on Vimeo.

*Dog photo credit from the Alaska Dispatch: http://www.alaskadispatch.com/slideshow/photos-iditarod-2011-ceremonial-start

