Check point and Congrats

by knittinginatree

So many things to check in and report.

1. CoNgRaTuLaTiOnS to John Baker of Kotzebue! The first ever Inupiaq to win the Iditarod. Baker made record time when he crossed the finish line at 9:46 am on March 14 with 10 dogs. His winning time was 8 days, 18 hours, 46 minutes and 39 seconds.  (The previous record, held by Martin Buser, was 8 days, 22 hours, 46 minutes and 2 seconds).  It’s such an exciting win for rural Alaska. And, even though I’m in the big metropolis of Anchorage I’m really excited and happy to celebrate this victory too.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. In case you don’t understand what’s going on in the thumbnail photos above, that is S’s attempt at taking knitting action shots. He carefully set up all my skeins to look like a row of sled dogs.  I’ve got a ways to go with my knapsack; unfortunately several other things have slowed my iknitarod progress down. But, as they say, it ain’t over till the red lantern reaches Nome, AK. So, in case you’re wondering I’m still knitting over here and cheering on other mushers who are still making their way to Nome.

3. I hope the luck of the Irish is being kind to you today. We’ve been invited out to a few events but, with a sudden snow storm, all I feel like doing is wandering around in the quiet snow filled streets and stopping in at the Bear Tooth Theatre for a beer and a viewing of Black Swan. We’ll see.

*Top photo credit from the Fairbanks Daily Newsminer.

