A new hat

by knittinginatree

No, try as he might, this new hat is not for S.

My thesis advisor had a baby boy! A new hat sounded like a good gift. So, I perused the baby hat patterns on ravelry and couldn’t really find what I was envisioning. Instead, I just started casting on and after a little ribbing, a little striping and a little decreasing I came up with this.

Just a little hat that he’ll be able to grow into. I was amazed by how fun and quickly I was able to whip this up. Knitting for babies has never really been an interest of mine, but after making this hat I did feel a bit sad thinking about all my friends who have wee ones and I’ve never given them a stitch of yarn love. Perhaps it’s time for me to change my ways. Friends, let this be a warning, prepare your peanuts for hand knits.

Believe it or not our wedding colors were shades of orange and green. And, a very kind friend knit around 80 orange and green sachets for our party favors. I may have made a few too. Anyway, the yarn used for this hat was left over Red Heart from our wedding. Knit on size 6 needles in the round and raveled here.

