Pay It Forward 2011 take #1: An FO for Melissa.

by knittinginatree

Did any of you succumb to reposting the “pay it forward” facebook status last January? I did. The status reads something like this:

Pay it forward 2011: I promise to send something handmade to the first 5 people who leave a comment here. However, to be eligible, you must re post this status, offering the same thing to 5 other people. The rules are that it must be handmade by you and it must be sent to your 5 people sometime in 2011. Ready, set, GO!

The idea of celebrating and sharing the handmade is something I’m in favor of, and I’m excited to create items for the women who took on the challenge and commented on my post, that being said, I hope I can keep my promise. 

The first person to comment was Melissa, an old friend from my hometown. I’m not sure if she will remember this but we sat together every day in our College Writing I & II/Modern Fiction class. There were a total of 6 students in the class, 2 video conferencing in from a neighboring town–yes, we grew up in a rural area of Northern Minnesota.  Melissa was a senior and I was a junior. At that time, I think Melissa knew that English Lit and teaching would be in her future. And, while I didn’t have a clue what my future would look like, if I wasn’t already a lover of words stories this course we took together certainly made the love apparent to me. Thinking back on it, I’m amazed that our little school system had video conferencing capabilities, the opportunity to take college courses and incredible educators to boot.

Melissa is also a friend on ravelry, so I was able to check out her favorites and came across the Lace Ribbon Scarf pattern by Veronik Avery. Such a fun and simple pattern, once you get use to the zig-zagging lace repeats.  In the end, I found myself running out of yarn and modified it into a cowl by sewing the ends together.  I believe Melissa plans to share a few photos modeling her new cowl, until then, here are a couple of me before I sent it away in the mail.


Now raveled: here.

