Happy Places…

by knittinginatree

I’m hesitant to admit this, but as an aspiring masters student I’ve certainly started to designate places around the web that I consider my happy places–places I go to to feel good. Ravelry, without a doubt, is the ultimate happy place for me. But, coming in at second is the instant play button on netflix. I’ve particularly been enjoying TV episodes. As someone who didn’t really grow up with television I’ve certainly been spending the last few years catching up. I’m even starting to catch on to TV references and stories among my peers which is an entirely new experience for me–and kind of a strange when it comes down to it. I’m also a bit embarrassed to admit it but free cable has been included with every apartment we’ve lived in since moving to Alaska. Boy, what an education am I getting as a masters student…  

So, in an attempt to bring this back to knitting. S has this theory that there are shows that are appropriate for knitting and some that just don’t mix well. I tend to agree with him; sometimes it can be hard to knit and keep up with fast paced action and drama.

Lately, I’ve been finding myself enjoying knitting while watching the early seasons of Cheers. I like the slower pacing of the humor and it’s the dialog that I’m interested in hearing, which works well for my current lace project. We just finished up Season 2 and there is this great scene when Diane gives Sam a sweater. I thought it would be fun to share the clip here. It reminds me of all the bad knitting projects I gave to friends expecting them to love it…Ha!

(The sweater bit runs until 2:12 )

I have a bit of a running list of knitting appropriate shows:  The Gilmore Girls, Bones, Firefly, Castle, Friday Night Lights, Twin Peaks, V, Parenthood, Dexter, Caprica, Project Runway, Inspector Lynley, Inspector Gadget, Sherlock Holmes.

These are just shows I’ve manged to view thus far, I’m sure there are plenty of others. I’m always looking for knitting/TV recommendations. If you have any you’d like to add to this list, please leave a comment.

