My new garden socks

by knittinginatree

My socks for the summer are off the needles and happily on my feet. Pattern: Butterfly Garden Socks by Paige Darling
Yarn: Araucania Itata Solid

As you can see the pattern contains enough details to keep a knitter happy like picot edges, a fun butterfly stitch, and bead work. I did end up making a few minor changes with this pattern. I chose to use smaller beads than the recommended size and omitted a couple of rows on the cuff. Instead of sewing in the picot edge at the end, I just worked it in while knitting.

The yarn is beautiful, great to work with, and my new favorite color. However, I’m not yet convinced that it’s a sturdy workhorse yarn appropriate for the kind of walking that I do. I prefer to really wear my hand knit socks, if you know what I mean.  But, I would certainly recommend it for other projects.

This was the first time I’ve ever incorporated beads into my knitting and I’m happy with the result. Now raveled here.

