The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test: Part #1

by knittinginatree

I don’t know about you, but I have a respectable amount of animal and plant fibers in the colorway natural. You know the color, it borders around yellowy-creamy-ivory and sometimes snow white. I do love a healthy dose of the natural colorway but I’ve decided when almost everything in your stash is this color, it’s time to take matters into your own hands. So, I’ve entered into a new phase of fiber curiosities and will be experimenting with the wonderful world of dyeing.

Sometime ago S gave me The Craft of the Dyer: Colour From Plants and Lichens by Karen Leigh Casselman. I haven’t read it completely but it’s a great reference base for the beginning dyer with an interest in using dye from plants and lichens. (An eventual goal of mine.) But, in the meantime, I’ve been playing around with the dying process using none other than, that’s right, kool-aid.

Here are a few photos of my first adventure with dyeing.


One skein of hand spun wool.


I had visions of a nice merlot color when I mixed two packets of mixed berry with one packet of grape.

We call it Stan the stainless steel stock pot.

Submerging the fiber goods.

I’ve heard several stories about kool-aid dyeing woes-no matter what the combination-everything turns out as hot pink. And, my experience was no exception.

Okay, it’s not quite hot pink, but it’s also not the merlot I was hoping to see. I think my kool-aid to yarn ratio was a bit off. (Something to keep in mind for the future).

So, what is it? Just some shades of light and dark pink, or, as one person described it, bubble gum pink. Since it’s not a color I currently have in my stash, I’m happy. And, I’m sure it will make up as a pretty scarf or cowl.

I haven’t given up entirely on kool-aid just yet. I still have a few packets of green and some other reds I want to try out. So, stay tuned for more adventures in kool-aid dyeing with knittinginatree.

