FO: Rock Island

by knittinginatree

I’m just going to come right out and say the obvious– Jared Flood is a genius. Why it has taken me so long to knit any of his designs is beyond me. Today I share with you the latest Flood blockbuster, Rock Island.

I took Jared’s suggestion and decided to try fingering weight yarn,  Cascade Heritage Solid in purple. Ehem, you may remember this yarn from the failed Union Market Pullover or the disasterous Lace Stockings… Well, it may just be that this yarn was waiting for the right pattern and I think I have found it in this Shetland lace inspired design.


Because I used fingering weight, I found the right gauge on size 8 needles and, let’s just say that after blocking, the shawl really bloomed. 

The length is good for me, though, as it wraps up nicely around my neck. However, I think it will be more of a fall accessory than one for summer. My first Flood + my first lace shawl = a happy gal. (Now raveled : here. )

Special thanks to S for taking the photos. The tide was coming in while we were photoing and I had visions of getting sucked into the mud flats. Of course we survived and all is well. We feel very fortunate to have close access to such a great trail system and backdrop for photos. I should also note that the photos were taken after 8:30pm. Oh, Alaska summer light how I love you.

Happy weekend!

