Yarn of the week

by knittinginatree

If you haven’t noticed, I have a bit of a thing going on with the extraordinary fiber known as qiviut. And, it being my birthday week and all, I couldn’t help but splurge a little. I have a winter shawl in mind but we’ll see where the season takes me.

The fiber was purchased from the Anchorage Museum gift shop and is locally hand spun. They sell it in several colors but lately I’ve been drawn to the deep sea blue. And, the feel well, as the label reads…

Musk ox fleece consists of two types of hair that protect the animals from the intense cold of the winter in the high arctic. There is the outer layer of coarse hair and a layer of shorter extremely fine under hair called qiviut. Qiviut is prized for its incredible warmth and luxuriously soft feel. It is eight times warmer than sheep’s wool, by weight and is finer than cashmere. Few are lucky to ever get a chance to see this fiber, as worldwide annual production is estimated at only a few thousand pounds. 

Trust me, I’m feeling lucky! And, for those who are like me, a bit driven by guilt when it comes to luxury, there is a lovely cafe next door to the museum gift shop. I suggest visiting the cafe first and ordering a basiltini. It will help to take the edge off before entering the gift shop. Cheers!

 

